California reopens Tuesday June 15th 2021

Here’s what will change as of June 15, 2021 in the City of Palm Springs CA

As a result of significantly fewer COVID-19 virus cases and success with increased vaccinations, California is fully reopening its economy on  Tuesday, June 15th 2021.

It is removing government restrictions  that have been in place for many months.

However, CalOSHA’s stricter, existing mask and distance requirements for workers remain in place, until Thursday, June 17th, pending a vote from the state’s workplace safety board.

Here is a rundown of what will change for residents and visitors:

Fully vaccinated individuals will no longer need to wear face coverings in most indoor and
outdoor settings. However, individuals will still be required to wear a mask on airplanes,
buses, trains, in airports and transportation stations. Unvaccinated or partially vaccinated
individuals will be required to wear face coverings outside of their home. Private
businesses may continue to require customers wear face coverings.
The following individuals are exempt from wearing face coverings at all times:
• Persons younger than 2-years-old
• Persons with a medical condition, mental health condition, or disability that prevents
wearing a mask. This includes persons with a medial condition for whom wearing a
mask could obstruct breathing.
• Persons who are hearing impaired, or communicating with a person who is hearing
impaired, where the ability to see the mouth is essential for communication.
• Persons for whom wearing a mask would create a risk to the person related to their
work, as determined by local, state or federal regulators or workplace safety

Restaurants, bars and retail stores, theaters, amusement parks, places of worship, hotels
and entertainment centers may return to normal operations with no restrictions on capacity
limitations. Social distancing will no longer be required for attendees, customers and

Proof of vaccination or a negative COVID-19 test will be required for indoor events with
more than 5,000 attendees, and recommended for outdoor events with more than 10,000
attendees, through Oct. 1. A vaccination card, a photo of a vaccination card or
documentation of vaccination from a healthcare provider can be used to show as proof. A
COVID-19 test must be conducted within 72 hours before an event. A printed document,
email or text message displaying test results must be shown.

Starting June 17, 2021, pending a vote from the state’s workplace safety board, fully
vaccinated workers will not be required to wear masks at work. Those not vaccinated will
still have to wear a mask when working indoors or in a vehicle.


For residential tenancies, beginning July 1, 2021, residential landlords can take their
tenants to small claims court in order to recover unpaid rent debt, regardless of how much
the tenant owes.
In addition, by June 30, 2021 residential tenants must pay at least 25% of the rent due
during the period of September 1, 2020 through June 30, 2021, to avoid an eviction action
being filed.
Finally, beginning July 1, 2021, residential tenants will have to pay the full amount of their
future rent in order to be protected from eviction.
For more information about COVID-19 laws regarding residential landlord/tenant
relationships, please visit:

For commercial tenancies, until July 1, 2021, a commercial landlord cannot attempt to evict certain qualifying commercial tenants if that tenant is unable to pay rent because of COVID-19 reasons. In order to receive such protections, the tenant:

• Must have been legally required to close or reduce operations, based on the fact
that the tenant was within an industry that was closed or limited due to COVID-19
• Must stay current on rent going forward, starting with April 2021 rent; and
• Cannot be a chain establishment.
To view the City’s ordinance regarding commercial evictions, please visit: